What our clients say

We had business policies in place for many years to cover death and disability of the shareholders and loss of business income. We engaged the services of Hugh Percy of First Capital Financial Services to undertake a review of our policies.

Hugh questioned the needs of our business now and going forward, relative to the policies we had in place and given the financial maturity of the business and ownership structure of the company. The review highlighted significant cost savings and policy changes that were more relevant to our needs. Unfortunately as a result of the unexpected death of a majority shareholder at age 52, we had cause to test our policies and the changes we had made and advice received proved to be sound. First Capital ensured the claim process was quick and efficient.

Like many, we thought it would never happen to us, but having been through this experience we encourage every business to review their business insurance needs regularly. We have appreciated Hugh’s professionalism and advice, and at the end of the day First Capital has delivered when it counts.

Lyndal Irvine
Director - Irvine Flooring, 1 February, 2017

We have been with Dai for some time and really value his advice. He was highly recommended to us by someone already in the Financial Services and he has worked hard on our behalf to improve our portfolio. He has a vast knowledge of the markets and his recommendations are well researched and have proved successful for us. Would we recommend Dai - without hesitation

Greg and Marg Scott
Investment Client, 5 September, 2014

Dai Eveleigh was instrumental in managing the transfer of our investments from our previous advisers having experienced problems regarding contact, proactive advice and investment action.

Since working with First Capital Services we have seen a significant improvement in communications and the returns from investments in a difficult financial market.

Because of the relationship we have with Dai we are able to have regular discussions in respect of our objectives, financial risks and feel part of the decision process.

We would be very comfortable in recommending Dai and First Capital as a “user friendly” investment company.



Gordon and Janet Plunkett
, 18 September, 2014

Our relationship with First Capital commenced in July 2011 when they replaced Grant Thornton as our advisor and relationship manager with Southern Cross.

During this period we have been impressed with the professionalism of First Capital and their responsiveness to a wide range of requests both from EECA and our staff. Staff feedback has been very positive with respect to the services provided and both Kevin and Hugh have been prepared to go the extra mile in working with our organisation as we explore other options for expanding the range of staff benefits.

Our medical benefits plan with Southern Cross is valued by our staff and First Capital have been an important component in ensuring the ongoing success of this plan.

Richard Fitzgerald
Human Resources Manager - EECA, 1 November, 2012

We have been clients of First Capital for over a decade, and have found Hugh and his staff very professional in their management of our personal insurance needs. The constant review of our needs gives us confidence that we always have "fit for purpose" policies, and when issues occur Hugh is there to "fight " for his clients.
We wish them continued success.

Brent Thornton
Managing Director - Natural Dairy Products Group, 13 November, 2012

“First Capital has been partnering with our company for 5 years. The relationship has been characterised by their professional approach to our business and employees’ needs. Their response and turnaround time are exceptional and their advice always very relevant and appropriate to the issues that we need to deal with”

Deon Smit
Manager, People and Culture - Dimension Data NZ, 8 February, 2017

“Hugh has worked tirelessly with our organisation to ensure we secured a fit for purpose policy plan for our staff in the competitive world of Medical Insurance. I can’t speak highly enough of the services provided by the First Capital team.

Hugh and Kevin have certainly gone the extra mile in facilitating on site briefings, throughout the country, to ensure our operational staff have had the opportunity to be fully informed on this staff benefit whilst Catherine and her team have been very professional in coordinating the wide range of questions and requests from our staff.

I am looking forward to working with Hugh and his team through the next phase as we explore the options available to us to expand the scheme to the whole of our Organisation.

Paul Louis
Acting Human Resource Director - St John, 14 February, 2017